2014 Microsoft Most Valuable Professional for SQL Server

On this April Fools’ day of 2014 I received this news from Microsoft:

Congratulations! We are pleased to present you with the 2014 Microsoft® MVP Award! This award is given to exceptional technical community leaders who actively share their high quality, real world expertise with others. We appreciate your outstanding contributions in SQL Server technical communities during the past year.
[…]

The Microsoft MVP Award provides us the unique opportunity to celebrate and honor your significant contributions and say “Thank you for your technical leadership.”

Which means I am now officially a SQL Server MVP!! (doing a little dance)

MVP

I’m still overwhelmed by the news, humbled and honored.

When I started in the IT business in 1998 I found guidance and a lot of practical information coming from the hands of MVPs. When I began working with .Net, SQL Server and SharePoint extensively I always looked up to MVPs admiring their dedication and the extent of their knowledge.

Later, working at SolidQ, I had the opportunity to meet a lot of those people that have guided me through the years and have helped me developing my technical and non-technical skills.

Through the community I have grown and learned a lot. I feel like it is my duty (and a pleasure) to give some back under different forms:

  • Blogging.
  • Speaking at SQL Saturdays in Austria, Portugal, Scotland, Ireland….
  • Organizing SQL Saturday in DK in 2013 and 2014
  • Becoming a regional mentor for PASS in 2014
  • Helping arranging the SQL Rally Nordic in 2014

A well deserved thank you goes to these people for their inspiration and guidance :

-Fernando Guerrero (Twitter) for showing me the importance of the community

-Mark Broadbent (Twitter) for welcoming me warmly during my first SQL Saturday as a speaker making me feel like a part of the family already

-Jen Stirrup (Twitter) for her amazing community involvement setting the example.

Thanks guys for showing the path, I owe you.

Régis  

5 comments

  1. Thanks a lot for the kind words Regis. I have to say that out of everyone I know, I can’t think of a more humble and deserving candidate for this award. You typify every aspect that it should represent such as being a Technical Expert, selfless in your contributions, and many other qualities! So massive congratulations again and well done!

  2. Thank you Mark, being a part of the SQLFamily means a lot to me !
    Let’s drink to that in Lisbon…

  3. Big Congratulations! Well deserved. Hope you are doing well. Let’s catch up sometime.

    1. Thank you Simran…

  4. Congratulations!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 581 other followers

