speaking at SQL Saturday Porto

This weekend (18 October 2014) I was extremely lucky to have the opportunity to speak at SQL Saturday in Porto : https://www.sqlsaturday.com/341/eventhome.aspx

I had also the amazing opportunity to do a whole day of pre-conference about the basics of SQL Server Analysis Services. This pre-con day was hold at the HQ of one of the conference sponsors in Porto : Roumos

B0FQT-aCMAIIQKo

I mixed business and pleasure stayed in Portugal for one week together with my family. We landed in Lisbon Tuesday October 14th and were picked up by our good friend João Fialho (T) – a friend that we met for the first time 2½ years ago when attending the second SQL Saturday in Portugal.

After a short stay in Lisbon we took off to Porto where the pre-con and the conference were to be held.

What a city !! We stayed on the south side of the river in Villanova de Gaia in an rented apartment, stuck between all the old Port-wine houses and the river Douro.

WP_20141019_17_11_07_Pro

The SQL Saturday team did a great job. Niko, Paulo, Ivan, Vitor, Rui, Paolo, Nelson, André, Nuno and a bunch of other guys mainly from the Portuguese user group : http://www.sqlport.com/sql-server/ . Not to forget Ines, the photographer during the event day10714117_994759087206688_7542943683191638712_o

The Saturday itself was a great day of sessions delivered by both Portuguese and English speaking speakers and held at the ISEP.  The venue itself was a great place with Auditorium and smaller rooms connected directly with the speaker’s room giving speakers better access (and exit) for the rooms.

I wasn’t very satisfied with my session. It is the first I do this session and although it is not very serious (A fairy tale about dataviz) it could have been better. My timing wasn’t perfect and the demos lacked focus and explanation, maybe I should consider adding focus to the fact that all the data that I am using are publicly available and can add value to data analysis….. I believe the attendees were glad that it stopped earlier so they were able to watch the football game Porto against Sporting…B0joWl8IEAA4mOB      1899934_10152764119154174_3723907375710131441_n

I will definitely need to do some more work about it and may be remove the rhymes I’m using in it before it is cooked down to a  lightning talk at the PASS Summit 2014 in a few weeks.B0Pgs92IAAEx2Si

 

The social part of the event was – as always – a pleasure. We had plenty of opportunities to interact with the other speakers and the organizing team during the speaker’s dinner, the post-event and the sunday’s visit of a portwine house : Taylor’s followed by lunch and then degustation of more Port wine at Ramos Pintos.

This was my third visit in Portugal, all of them have been thanks to my involvement in SQL Saturday. I am really looking forward to the next event and hope that one of my sessions will be picked….

Thanks again for having me to this great event !!

Leave a Reply

